For a four-reformer studio, equipment cost alone runs $11,000–$33,196 (four commercial-grade reformers, before tax, freight or installation) — a single unit costs $2,750–$8,299 depending on brand and configuration. Premises and launch expenditure (buildout or real estate, licensing, marketing, signage) is a separate and far more variable cost: roughly $25,700–$56,000 under lower-end published assumptions, or $112,700–$256,000 under higher-end published assumptions — rent and buildout are too location-dependent for any single figure, US or European, to responsibly replace a local quote. Working capital (cash reserved to cover operating costs before revenue stabilizes) has no published Pilates-specific benchmark and is not included in either figure below; you’ll need to size it yourself from the recurring costs listed later in this guide. Adding just equipment plus premises/launch gives a total illustrative investment of $36,700–$67,000 under the lower-investment scenario, or $145,896–$289,196 under the higher-investment scenario. Both scenarios are built entirely from published third-party assumptions, not observed market averages, and both require a local quotation before you rely on them. The rest of this guide breaks every number down by source, keeps equipment separate from premises and working capital, and gives you scenarios for 4, 6, 8, 10 and 12 reformers so you can substitute your own local numbers where ours are only a starting point.
Why there’s no single answer
Every published “cost to open a Pilates studio” figure you’ll find online depends on things that vary enormously: how many reformers you buy and from which brand, and how much you spend on rent and buildout in your specific location. Rent and buildout costs in particular cannot be reliably generalized even within one country, let alone across the US and Europe — a studio in a major US metro core, a UK high street, and a secondary-market US town face entirely different cost structures, and this guide’s premises figures (below) are built from US-focused published estimates only. If you’re in a different market, treat every premises number here as a rough starting point to sanity-check against your own broker or contractor quote, not a substitute for one.
Reformer prices by brand: what’s actually published
We checked the official website of eight manufacturers directly — Balanced Body, Merrithew/STOTT PILATES, BASI Systems, Align-Pilates, Elina Pilates, Peak Pilates, Gratz Pilates and BonPilates — and re-verified every price live a second time during an independent audit, on 2026-08-15. Two findings shaped how this comparison is built. First, Balanced Body’s modern commercial line has no public first-party price anywhere: every product page for the Allegro 2, Allegro Nextgen, Studio Reformer, Rialto and Bravo says “contact your local representative.” Second, contrary to its reputation as a quote-only classical brand, Gratz Pilates publishes fixed prices for nearly its entire catalog — only freight is quote-based, not the equipment itself.
Because a bare reformer, a reformer bundled with a box or tower, a reformer/Cadillac combination, and a home-use package are fundamentally different products, we’ve kept them in separate tables rather than ranking them together, and every manufacturer’s own commercial-vs-home positioning is respected rather than assumed. Every row states its market, currency, tax status and source so you can see exactly what you’re comparing.
Bare or standalone studio/commercial reformers
These are reformer-only prices, without a box, tower or accessory bundle, for equipment the manufacturer itself markets as studio/commercial grade — every model below was individually re-checked against the manufacturer’s own positioning language, not just its price.
| Brand | Model | Price | Currency | Market | Tax status | Excludes | Source / date |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Merrithew / STOTT PILATES | SPX Max Reformer | 3,649.00 | USD | US | Excl. tax, freight, duties | Freight, customs, duties, local taxes | merrithew.com, re-verified 2026-08-15 |
| Merrithew / STOTT PILATES | V2 Max Reformer | 4,999.00 | USD | US | Excl. tax, freight, duties | Freight, customs, duties, local taxes | merrithew.com, re-verified 2026-08-15 |
| Merrithew / STOTT PILATES | SPX Max Plus Reformer | 6,399.00 | USD | US | Excl. tax, freight, duties | Freight, duties (US import tariff stated as Merrithew-covered on this SKU) | merrithew.com, re-verified 2026-08-15 |
| Gratz Pilates | Pilates Reformer (Aluminum) | 4,995.00 | USD | US | Excl. tax (VAT/duty added on int’l invoices) | Shipping/freight | gratzpilates.com, re-verified 2026-08-15 |
| Gratz Pilates | Pilates Reformer (Maple Wood) | 5,295.00 | USD | US | Excl. tax | Shipping/freight | gratzpilates.com, re-verified 2026-08-15 |
| BASI Systems | Compact Reformer (from — Anthracite Grey base; other colors +€50) | 4,900.00 | EUR | EU | Excl. VAT | Shipping, duties | basisystems.com, re-verified 2026-08-15 |
| BASI Systems | Compact Reformer (from — Anthracite Grey base; other colors +$50) | 5,250.00 | USD | US | Not stated | Shipping, white-glove delivery quoted separately | bodynetworx.com (exclusive US distributor), re-verified 2026-08-15 |
| BASI Systems | Reformer (standard, from) | 6,150.00–6,200.00 | EUR | EU | Excl. VAT | Shipping, duties | basisystems.com, re-verified 2026-08-15 |
| BASI Systems | Reformer (standard, from) | 6,850.00–6,900.00 | USD | US | Not stated | Shipping | bodynetworx.com, re-verified 2026-08-15 |
| Align-Pilates | C8-Pro Reformer | 2,449.99 | GBP | UK | Incl. VAT (excl.-VAT figure £2,041.66 also shown) | Delivery, quoted separately | align-pilates.com, re-verified 2026-08-15 |
| Align-Pilates | C8-Pro Reformer | 2,750.00 | USD | US | Not stated | Pallet delivery excluded from free-shipping policy | goalignpilates.com, re-verified 2026-08-15 |
| Align-Pilates | A8-Pro Reformer | 2,759.98 | GBP | UK | Incl. VAT (excl.-VAT figure £2,299.98 also shown) | Delivery | align-pilates.com, re-verified 2026-08-15 |
| Align-Pilates | A8-Pro Reformer (base price; a separate leg-option variant selector shows $3,700–$3,900) | 3,600.00 base (variants to 3,900.00) | USD | US | Not stated | Delivery; buyer unloads from pallet | goalignpilates.com, re-verified 2026-08-15 |
| Peak Pilates | fit™ Reformer + Box (Grey base; Black colorway is $3,295.00, “Call to Order”; page positions this model as “Trusted by Pilates Studios Worldwide” — genuinely commercial) | 3,195.00 | USD | US | Not stated | Delivery beyond curbside | peakpilates.com, re-verified 2026-08-15 |
| Peak Pilates | MVe® Reformer + Box (page explicitly calls this a “professional studio reformer”) | 4,295.00 | USD | US | Not stated | Delivery, assembly | peakpilates.com, re-verified 2026-08-15 |
| Elina Pilates | Nubium™ Reformer Bundle | 3,190.00 | USD | US | Not stated | Not stated | elinapilates.com, re-verified 2026-08-15 |
| Elina Pilates | Nubium™ Reformer Bundle | 2,407.90 | EUR | EU | Incl. VAT | Not stated | elinapilates.com/eu, re-verified 2026-08-15 |
| Balanced Body | Allegro Nextgen (flagship) — historical launch price, Sept. 2025 | 3,245.00 | USD | US | Not stated | Not currently obtainable at this price — live product page as of 2026-08-15 shows no price, says “contact your local representative” | BusinessWire, re-verified 2026-08-15 |
All other Balanced Body modern-line reformers (Allegro 2, Studio Reformer, Rialto, Bravo) remain “contact for pricing” on every official Balanced Body domain as of this re-check. Elina’s Nubium™ is a standalone product — not, as an earlier version of this article incorrectly stated, a combined “Nubium/Lignum” bundle; Lignum Reformer™ is a separate SKU whose own price we could not independently re-confirm and have therefore excluded rather than guess at. See the separate secondary-source table for third-party reseller prices.
Reformer + Tower
| Brand | Model | Price | Currency | Market | Tax status | Source / date |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| BASI Systems | Compact Reformer with Tower | 7,450.00 | EUR | EU | Excl. VAT | basisystems.com, re-verified 2026-08-15 |
| BASI Systems | Reformer With Tower | 8,990.00 | EUR | EU | Excl. VAT | basisystems.com, re-verified 2026-08-15 |
| Balanced Body (Contrology classical line) | Reformer with Tower and Mat | 6,950.00 | USD | US | Not stated | contrology.pilates.com, re-verified 2026-08-15 — classical apparatus line, not the modern commercial line |
Reformer/Cadillac combinations
| Brand | Model | Price | Currency | Market | Tax status | Source / date |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Gratz Pilates | Aluminum Half Cadillac (insert/raised bed) | 6,600.00 | USD | US | Excl. tax | gratzpilates.com, re-verified 2026-08-15 |
| Gratz Pilates | Aluminum Full Cadillac (insert/raised bed) | 7,995.00 | USD | US | Excl. tax | gratzpilates.com, re-verified 2026-08-15 |
| Gratz Pilates | Maple Wood Full Cadillac (insert/raised bed) | 8,295.00 | USD | US | Excl. tax | gratzpilates.com, re-verified 2026-08-15 |
| BASI Systems | Reformer Combo (3-in-1: Reformer / Reformer+Tower / Cadillac, from) | 10,250.00–10,300.00 | EUR | EU | Excl. VAT | basisystems.com, re-verified 2026-08-15 |
Standalone Cadillac/Trapeze Tables (not attached to a reformer)
| Brand | Model | Price | Currency | Market | Tax status | Source / date |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Gratz Pilates | Pilates Cadillac (Aluminum) | 4,600.00 | USD | US | Excl. tax | gratzpilates.com, re-verified 2026-08-15 |
| Merrithew / STOTT PILATES | Cadillac / Trapeze Table | 4,999.00 | USD | US | Not stated | merrithew.com, re-verified 2026-08-15 |
| Balanced Body (Contrology classical line) | Cadillac | 4,900.00 | USD | US | Not stated | contrology.pilates.com, re-verified 2026-08-15 — single flat price, no discount/list-price distinction on the current page |
| Peak Pilates | Artistry® Classic Cadillac (from) | 4,995.00 | USD | US | Not stated | peakpilates.com, re-verified 2026-08-15 |
| BASI Systems | Trapeze Table (Cadillac, from) | 6,650.00 | EUR | EU | Excl. VAT | basisystems.com, re-verified 2026-08-15 |
| BASI Systems | Trapeze Table (Cadillac, from) | 7,750.00–7,800.00 | USD | US | Not stated | bodynetworx.com, re-verified 2026-08-15 |
Home-use reformers and packages
These are engineered, warrantied, and in at least one case explicitly marketed by the manufacturer, for lighter, lower-frequency home use. They are not directly comparable to the studio/commercial rows above.
| Brand | Model | Price | Currency | Market | Tax status | Source / date |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Merrithew / STOTT PILATES | At Home SPX Reformer Package (Merrithew states it covers US import tariffs on this specific SKU) | 3,349.00 | USD | US | Excl. tax; freight not covered | merrithew.com, re-verified 2026-08-15 |
| Merrithew / STOTT PILATES | Elevated At Home SPX Reformer Package | 4,499.00 | USD | US | Excl. tax, freight | merrithew.com, re-verified 2026-08-15 |
| Align-Pilates | R8-Pro Reformer (marketed as “light commercial” — dual home/light-commercial use, 20 hrs/week warranty cap) | 1,649.99 | GBP | UK | Incl. VAT | align-pilates.com, re-verified 2026-08-15 |
| Align-Pilates | R8-Pro Reformer | 2,000.00 | USD | US | Not stated | goalignpilates.com, re-verified 2026-08-15 |
| Elina Pilates | Domo™ Reformer | 1,490.00 | USD | US | Not stated | elinapilates.com, re-verified 2026-08-15 |
| Elina Pilates | Domo™ Reformer | 1,197.90 | EUR | EU | Incl. VAT | elinapilates.com/eu, re-verified 2026-08-15 |
| Peak Pilates | casa™ Reformer + Box (the manufacturer’s own product page states this model is “not recommended for commercial or high-traffic studio environments” — kept here, not in the commercial table) | 2,795.00 | USD | US | Not stated | peakpilates.com, re-verified 2026-08-15 |
Multi-unit studio packages
| Brand | Package | Price | Currency | Contents | Source / date |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Merrithew / STOTT PILATES | Complete Studio Package · SPX Max | 30,799.00 | USD | Not itemized on the category page | merrithew.com, re-verified 2026-08-15 |
| Merrithew / STOTT PILATES | Complete Studio Package · V2 Max Plus | 46,299.00 | USD | 4 V2 Max Plus Reformer Bundles, 2 Stability Chairs, 1 Cadillac, plus barrel/accessory set; Merrithew states a claimed $7,578 saving vs. buying separately | merrithew.com, re-verified 2026-08-15 |
| Align-Pilates | Complete Pilates Studio Bundle 2 | 17,503.75 | GBP | Not itemized | align-pilates.com, re-verified 2026-08-15 |
| Align-Pilates | Complete Pilates Studio Bundle 1 | 26,661.53 | GBP | Not itemized, largest package | align-pilates.com, re-verified 2026-08-15 |
Secondary-source prices (not first-party, use with caution)
| Brand | Model | Price | Currency | Market | Reseller (not manufacturer) | Date |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Balanced Body | Allegro 2 Reformer (refurbished) | 3,999.00 | USD | US | GymStore.com | 2026-08-15 |
| Balanced Body | Allegro 2 Reformer (new) | 5,689.00 | EUR (VAT incl.) | France | SISSEL France Performance Health | 2026-08-15 |
| Balanced Body | Rialto Reformer (new) | 4,621.01 | EUR (VAT excl.) | Germany | Sport-Thieme | 2026-08-15 |
| Balanced Body | Studio Reformer (new) | 4,600.00 | USD | US | Sandvi Studio (affiliate storefront, not independently confirmed on pilates.com) | 2026-08-15 |
| BonPilates | “Professional Reformer” (generic distributor naming, not a confirmed SKU) | from 3,490.00–3,500.00 | EUR | Baltic states | BonPilates Baltics (regional distributor; the manufacturer itself, bonpilates.com, publishes no prices at all) | 2026-08-15 |
Looking for used equipment as a lower-cost entry point? Our used Pilates reformer buying guide covers what to inspect before you buy secondhand, including the springs and wheels that are most likely to need attention.
Equipment investment: 4 to 12 reformers
To make the reformer-count scenarios below concrete, we picked one specific, real, currently-listed product per tier — not an average of several brands — so every number in this table is traceable to a single source. These are illustrative scenarios built from real per-unit prices, not observed market averages, and they exclude tax, freight, delivery and installation.
Formula: Equipment subtotal = number of reformers × per-unit price.
| Reformers | Value tier Align-Pilates C8-Pro, $2,750/unit | Mid tier Merrithew SPX Max Bundle, $3,949/unit | Premium tier Merrithew V2 Max Plus Bundle, $8,299/unit |
|---|---|---|---|
| 4 | $11,000 | $15,796 | $33,196 |
| 6 | $16,500 | $23,694 | $49,794 |
| 8 | $22,000 | $31,592 | $66,392 |
| 10 | $27,500 | $39,490 | $82,990 |
| 12 | $33,000 | $47,388 | $99,588 |
All figures USD, tax and freight excluded per each brand’s own stated exclusions.
Premises and launch costs (illustrative scenarios, not scaled by reformer count)
Rent and buildout cannot be reliably generalized — not across countries, and often not even within one. A studio in a major metro core will pay several times what the same square footage costs in a secondary market, and US costs do not translate to UK or EU costs at any fixed ratio. The two columns below are illustrative scenarios built from named published blog estimates, not observed market averages and not a substitute for a local quote. Where no source could be found for a category, we’ve said so rather than inventing a number.
| Cost category | Illustrative lower-investment scenario (lower-end assumptions) | Illustrative higher-investment scenario (higher-end assumptions) |
|---|---|---|
| Buildout / real estate (one-time) | $20,000–$40,000 basic buildout (Gymdesk, no external citation) | $100,000–$220,000, real estate + buildout combined, for ~1,500 sq ft — a US-only assumption, not generalizable to other markets (Vibefam, no external citation) |
| Rent (monthly, recurring) | $800–$2,000/mo secondary market (Gymdesk) | $2,500–$5,000/mo urban core (Gymdesk) |
| Licensing, LLC/incorporation (one-time) | $700–$1,000 (LegalZoom) | $700–$1,000, same source — no higher-end alternative found (LegalZoom) |
| Liability insurance, per-instructor policy (annual) | $350–$702/yr per policy (Insureon, median of real Pilates-instructor quotes) | Same figure applies — no higher-end source found. Studio-level (multi-instructor or Business Owner’s Policy) coverage cost: no published estimate found — obtain a local insurance quote. |
| Booking/management software (monthly) | $23.99/mo base, US promotional rate; £20/mo UK — plus named add-ons (extra calendars $10/mo each, Branded App $100/mo, MySite $20/mo), not a tiered plan (Vagaro, official pricing) | Starter “from $79/mo per location” (Mindbody, official pricing) — Accelerate/Ultimate/Ultimate Plus tiers not publicly disclosed by Mindbody; third-party-quoted figures for those tiers ($259–$699+/mo) are unverified against the primary source |
| Marketing / launch (one-time) | $3,000–$10,000 (Gymdesk) | $10,000–$30,000 (Vibefam) |
| Signage (one-time) | $2,000–$5,000 (HomeGuide, general commercial) | $2,000–$5,000, same source — no higher-end alternative found (HomeGuide) |
| Initial technology/software setup fee (one-time) | No published estimate found in either scenario’s sources — obtain a vendor quote. (An earlier version of this article used a franchise disclosure figure here; that figure has been removed because it depended on an FDD document we could not verify, and it does not represent an independent studio’s costs.) | |
On franchise cost benchmarks (removed from this article): an earlier version of this guide used Club Pilates, Pure Barre and StretchLab Franchise Disclosure Document Item 7 figures as a “premium” cost benchmark. We were not able to access any of the three primary FDD documents directly, only secondary summaries of uncertain vintage, and on review decided that using them — even with caveats — risked implying a level of certainty the evidence doesn’t support, and risked readers mistaking a franchise’s required build standard for typical independent-studio costs. Those figures have been removed from every calculation in this article. If you’re specifically evaluating a franchise, request the current-year FDD directly from the franchisor — it’s a legally mandated disclosure and the only reliable source for that decision.
Your ownership model changes the budget: compare a Pilates franchise with an independent studio before finalizing equipment, support, and ongoing-fee assumptions.
Instructor pay, if you’re hiring from day one
| Basis | Figure | Source |
|---|---|---|
| Average annual salary, full range | Average $70,426/yr ($33.86/hr); range $25,500–$139,000/yr | ZipRecruiter, re-verified 2026-08-15 |
| Compiled hourly/annual range (multiple salary sites) | $30–$65/hr; $48,000–$86,000/yr | Breathe Education, re-verified 2026-08-15, citing ZipRecruiter/Glassdoor/Salary.com |
| Per-class / per-session pay | Group reformer $35–$85/class; private session $50–$120 (conflicts somewhat with the Gymdesk figures below — both shown rather than merged) | Vibefam, no external citation |
| Per-class / per-session pay | Group class $30–$60/class; private $50–$75/session; FT salary $40,000–$65,000/yr | Gymdesk, re-verified 2026-08-15 |
Total opening budget: equipment + premises/launch (working capital not included)
Formula: Total one-time opening budget = Equipment subtotal + Premises one-time subtotal (buildout/real-estate + licensing + marketing + signage). Recurring monthly costs (rent, software, payroll) and annual costs (insurance) are shown separately above and are not summed into this one-time figure. Both columns below are illustrative scenarios built from named published estimates — not observed market averages, not franchise-required standards, and not a quote.
| Reformers | Illustrative lower-investment scenario (Align C8-Pro equipment + lower-end premises assumptions) | Illustrative higher-investment scenario (Merrithew V2 Max Plus equipment + higher-end premises assumptions) |
|---|---|---|
| 4 | $11,000 + $25,700–$56,000 = $36,700–$67,000 | $33,196 + $112,700–$256,000 = $145,896–$289,196 |
| 6 | $16,500 + $25,700–$56,000 = $42,200–$72,500 | $49,794 + $112,700–$256,000 = $162,494–$305,794 |
| 8 | $22,000 + $25,700–$56,000 = $47,700–$78,000 | $66,392 + $112,700–$256,000 = $179,092–$322,392 |
| 10 | $27,500 + $25,700–$56,000 = $53,200–$83,500 | $82,990 + $112,700–$256,000 = $195,690–$338,990 |
| 12 | $33,000 + $25,700–$56,000 = $58,700–$89,000 | $99,588 + $112,700–$256,000 = $212,288–$355,588 |
Lower-investment scenario premises subtotal = buildout ($20,000–$40,000) + licensing ($700–$1,000) + marketing ($3,000–$10,000) + signage ($2,000–$5,000) = $25,700–$56,000. Higher-investment scenario premises subtotal = real estate + buildout combined ($100,000–$220,000) + licensing ($700–$1,000) + marketing ($10,000–$30,000) + signage ($2,000–$5,000) = $112,700–$256,000. Neither scenario includes the technology-setup fee or studio-level insurance, since no source exists for either — add your own vendor and insurance quotes on top of these totals.
Working capital: an evidence gap, not an invented number
We looked for a Pilates-specific published benchmark for how much cash reserve a new studio should hold before revenue stabilizes, and found none. Generic small-business planning guidance commonly suggests reserving several months of fixed operating costs (rent, software, insurance, minimum payroll) as a buffer — but that is a general convention, not a Pilates-specific cited figure, and we’re not dressing it up as one. Build your own number from the recurring monthly costs above, multiplied by however many months of runway your risk tolerance and financing require, and confirm it with an accountant.
Purchase price vs. total cost of ownership
Formula: TCO = purchase price + delivery + installation + financing + maintenance + replacement parts + downtime − residual value.
The sticker price in the tables above is only the first term. The rest depend on your specific situation, so instead of inventing numbers for them, here’s what drives each one up or down:
| TCO component | Drives it up | Drives it down |
|---|---|---|
| Delivery / freight | Overseas manufacturer, remote location, non-curbside/white-glove service | Domestic manufacturer, urban delivery zone, curbside acceptable |
| Installation | Multi-unit combo apparatus, wall-mounted towers requiring anchoring | Self-assembly-capable staff, simple reformer-only units |
| Financing | Equipment loan or lease with interest, weak credit terms | Cash purchase, 0% manufacturer financing where offered (e.g. Align-Pilates notes finance options on some listings) |
| Maintenance & replacement parts | High class volume, inconsistent brand across the studio, no preventive inspection routine | Single-brand fleet, documented inspection schedule, parts kept in stock |
| Downtime | No backup units, no local parts stock, single point of failure per class slot | A spare reformer or spare parts on hand, predictable wear-part replacement cycle |
| Residual value | Well-known brand, documented maintenance history, standard configuration | Discontinued model, heavy modification, poor maintenance records |
Springs, pulleys and wheels are the components most likely to drive the maintenance and downtime terms in that formula, because they wear on a predictable cycle rather than failing randomly. Our guides on Pilates reformer springs, spring dimensions and compatibility, and which reformer parts wear out fastest go into the specifics brand by brand.
Essential vs. optional additional equipment
Essential: mats, the box/platform that several brands bundle with the reformer by default, and basic props (straps, handles) typically included in the bundle price.
Optional, priced separately by most brands: a standalone Cadillac/Trapeze Table runs $4,600–$7,800 across Gratz, Merrithew, Peak Pilates and BASI Systems (USD figures; BASI’s own EUR listing is €6,650). A reformer that converts into or incorporates a Cadillac — a genuinely different product — runs higher: Gratz’s insert/raised-bed combo conversions are $6,600–$8,295, and BASI’s 3-in-1 Reformer Combo is €10,250–10,300. Also optional: Stability/Wunda Chairs ($1,150–$2,990), Towers/Vertical Frames ($1,650–$2,300 standalone), and Ladder Barrels/Spine Correctors ($450–$2,500).
How many reformers do you need? A hypothetical worked example
Formula: Monthly reformer revenue = number of reformers × classes per day × operating days × average occupancy × average revenue per occupied place.
This is a hypothetical illustration of the formula, not a market prediction or a benchmark for your studio. None of the inputs below are sourced — they’re round numbers chosen only to show how the formula works.
| Input | Hypothetical value |
|---|---|
| Reformers | 8 |
| Classes per day | 5 |
| Operating days per month | 26 |
| Average occupancy | 70% |
| Average revenue per occupied place | $30 |
Monthly reformer revenue = 8 × 5 × 26 × 0.70 × $30 = $21,840/month (hypothetical). Substitute your own real class pricing and expected occupancy before using this for planning.
Spreadsheet-ready budget table
| Line item | Illustrative lower-investment scenario | Illustrative higher-investment scenario | Your quote |
|---|---|---|---|
| Reformers (specify count × unit price) | |||
| Additional apparatus (Cadillac/Chair/Tower, if any) | |||
| Freight / delivery / installation | Not consistently published — get a real quote | Not consistently published — get a real quote | |
| Buildout / real estate | $20,000–$40,000 | $100,000–$220,000 | |
| Licensing / incorporation | $700–$1,000 | $700–$1,000 | |
| Signage | $2,000–$5,000 | $2,000–$5,000 | |
| Initial marketing | $3,000–$10,000 | $10,000–$30,000 | |
| Initial technology setup | No published estimate — get a vendor quote | ||
| One-time opening total | sum of above | sum of above | |
| Rent (monthly) | $800–$2,000/mo | $2,500–$5,000/mo | |
| Software (monthly) | $23.99/mo + add-ons | from $79/mo (Mindbody Starter) | |
| Insurance (annual) | $350–$702/yr (per-instructor policy) | Studio-level: no published estimate — get a local quote | |
| Payroll (if hiring) | $40,000–$65,000/yr per instructor | $55,000–$85,000/yr per instructor | |
| Working capital reserve | No cited benchmark — calculate from your own recurring costs above | ||
Where independent studios actually save money
Three patterns showed up repeatedly in the brand research: refurbished/remanufactured equipment from established brands runs meaningfully below new pricing (a refurbished Balanced Body Allegro 2 was found at $3,999); bundled reformer+box packages (Peak Pilates, Elina, several Align-Pilates tiers) can cost less than buying a bare reformer and box separately; and sourcing outside the major US/EU brands (Align-Pilates, Elina Pilates) generally lands lower per unit, though not always by as much as marketing claims suggest — one third-party review’s Align-Pilates vs. Balanced Body discount claim didn’t match the prices we found directly on the official sites. If you’re considering sourcing equipment or parts directly from an overseas manufacturer, our guide to buying Pilates equipment from China covers the real risks, particularly around spare-parts availability after the sale.
Pre-purchase checklist
Before you commit to a brand or a reformer count: confirm whether the listed price is tax-inclusive or exclusive for your market; get a real freight and installation quote rather than assuming the sticker price is final; check whether the configuration you’re pricing includes the box/tower/accessories you need; ask about the manufacturer’s parts-availability and warranty terms for wear items, not just the frame warranty; and confirm your lease and buildout numbers against your actual space and local market, not a national blog estimate.
A note on tax and VAT: cash cost vs. economic cost
Some UK and EU prices in this guide are explicitly VAT-inclusive (Align-Pilates UK, Elina Pilates EU); most US prices don’t state a tax position at all; Merrithew, Gratz and BASI Systems explicitly exclude VAT/sales tax. If your business is VAT/GST-registered in the UK or EU, VAT paid on qualifying equipment is generally recoverable as input tax against VAT you charge on sales, subject to your registration and partial-exemption status — so the cash you hand over at purchase includes VAT, but the economic cost to the business, once reclaimed, is typically the VAT-exclusive figure. In the US, sales tax paid on equipment used to run the business is generally a real, non-recoverable cost. Confirm the specifics with an accountant before you budget off these figures.
Frequently asked questions
How much money do you need to open a Pilates studio?
Based on the illustrative scenarios in this guide, a four-reformer studio built from lower-end published cost assumptions runs $36,700–$67,000; the same reformer count built from higher-end published assumptions runs $145,896–$289,196. Both are constructed scenarios from named sources, not observed market averages, and exclude working capital and studio-level insurance, neither of which has a published Pilates-specific benchmark. Rent and buildout are highly location-dependent — treat these as a starting point for your own local quote, not a substitute for one.
How much does a commercial Pilates reformer cost?
Publicly listed studio/commercial-grade reformer prices in this guide range from $2,750 (Align-Pilates C8-Pro, US) to $8,299 (Merrithew V2 Max Plus Bundle, US), depending on brand and configuration. See the comparison tables above for the full breakdown by brand, tax status and market.
How many reformers should a new studio have?
There’s no published benchmark for this. Use the revenue formula in this guide (reformers × classes/day × operating days × occupancy × revenue per place) with your own real class pricing and realistic occupancy — not the hypothetical example shown — to model it for your market.
Is a reformer Pilates studio profitable?
This guide does not make profitability claims or predictions — we found no reliable published data on Pilates studio profitability or break-even timelines, and inventing one would be irresponsible for a financial-planning article. What we can show is the cost side (equipment, premises, ongoing operating costs) and a formula for estimating revenue from your own inputs; profitability depends on variables specific to your market that only you can supply.
What equipment does a Pilates studio need?
At minimum, reformers and mats. Beyond that, this guide’s research found several optional apparatus categories priced separately by most brands: Cadillac/Trapeze Tables, Stability/Wunda Chairs, Towers, and Ladder Barrels/Spine Correctors. See the “essential vs. optional” section above for exact price ranges by category.
What costs are commonly overlooked?
Springs, ropes, pulleys and wheels wear on a predictable cycle and are frequently underestimated in opening budgets. Freight and customs duties — excluded from nearly every manufacturer’s listed price in this guide — and installation are also commonly missed. See the total-cost-of-ownership section above.
Should a new studio buy new or used reformers?
Both are viable with different risk profiles. New equipment carries a manufacturer warranty and predictable parts availability; used equipment costs less upfront but needs careful inspection of wear components. See our used Pilates reformer buying guide for exactly what to check before buying secondhand.
How much working capital should a Pilates studio reserve?
We found no Pilates-specific published benchmark for this. Generic small-business planning guidance commonly suggests reserving several months of fixed operating costs as a buffer, but that’s a general convention, not a sourced figure specific to Pilates studios — build your own number from the recurring costs listed in this guide and confirm it with an accountant.
Conclusion
The honest answer to “how much does it cost to open a Pilates studio” is a range shaped by two things: which brand and configuration of reformer you buy, and how much your specific location costs to rent and build out — a cost that genuinely cannot be generalized across markets, US or European. This guide has kept those variables separate and sourced throughout, built its wider-budget scenarios only from named, explicitly-labeled assumptions, and removed figures it could not adequately verify rather than present them with a confidence they didn’t earn. If you’re further along and researching the parts and maintenance side of studio ownership — springs, pulleys, wheels, and what actually wears out first — our equipment guides linked throughout this article go deeper on that side of the total cost of ownership.
Last verified: 2026-08-15. Reformer and equipment prices change frequently — see the Human Verification table before republishing or relying on any individual figure.